Let’s face it, everyone makes mistakes now and then. Sometimes these mistakes, like a DWI, can have a much bigger effect on your life than you may realize when not handled correctly. If you’re facing a DWI charge in Missouri, you may not know firstly where to turn to, secondly what your rights are, and finally what the DWI laws in Missouri are. That’s why it’s vital to your future to find an experienced DWI attorney in Springfield, MO to represent you. As your DWI representation, we can assist you by:
- Handling all the necessary court paperwork
- Investigating your case by reviewing police reports
- Taking witness statements
- Examining any evidence against you
- Keeping you informed for what to expect before, during, and after your court hearing
- Appearing on your behalf if you are unable to appear in court
- Determining how you should plead after investigating the evidence
In the state of Missouri, a DWI is a serious charge and can carry along with it some hefty penalties and fines. Some of the consequences associated with DWI charges in Missouri include everything from fines, increased insurance rates, revoked driving privileges, and even jail time. Don’t wait to get a criminal defense attorney. We can help you navigate the laws and help to reduce fine or possible jail time. Even if your case seems pretty simple, it is always in your best interest to hire a defense attorney that specializes in DWI cases. If you or a loved one has recently been charged, contact us, DWI Springfield, experienced attorneys in Springfield, MO.
What Are The DWI Laws in Missouri?
In Missouri, it’s illegal to drive while intoxicated. This includes the use of alcohol, drugs, or certain medications. While the blood alcohol limit for drivers who have been drinking is .08% (if you’re under 21 the limit is .02%) it is illegal to have any amount of a controlled substance, like marijuana or cocaine, present in the driver’s blood. In addition, whether it’s your first offense or third offense will be a determining factor when the court decides which penalties you may face, if you are convicted.
If it’s your first DWI conviction, you may face:
- 30 Days license suspension
- Up to 6 months in jail
- Fines up to $500
- Possible Interlock Ignition Device (IID) required
The second conviction you could face:
- One year license suspension
- Up to one year in jail
- Fines up to $1000
- IID possibly required after one year
If you’re unlucky enough to receive a third conviction, you may face:
- 10 year license suspension
- Up to four years jail time
- Fines up to $5,000
- You will be required to have an interlock ignition device
If convicted of a DWI in Missouri, point will be added to your license. You can find more information about the point system here. If you are found to be the cause of a fatal crash while under the influence, you may find yourself facing a felony charge of Involuntary Manslaughter. This charge could result in jail time up to seven years and/or fines up to $5000.
How DWI Springfield Can Help
We know that sometimes good people make bad decisions. We aren’t here to judge, we are simply here to help you get out of this mess. When you choose to work with experienced criminal defense attorneys, like DWI Springfield, you are making a good decision for your future. We use our experience and intimate knowledge of the justice system to explore your case from top to bottom. We leave no stone unturned to ensure the best possible outcome for you. Our attorneys have many years of experience in providing legal representation for the following cases:
- DWIs and DUIs
- License Reinstatement
- SATOP (Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program)
- Hardship Licenses
- SR-22 Insurance
- Expunging of Alcohol offenses over 10 years old
If you are being charged with a DWI, do not hesitate to contact your DWI attorneys in Springfield, MO. We are more than happy to represent you and will fight aggressively on your behalf. Contact us today to set up an appointment, we offer free consultations to all of our clients.